Favorite Books of 2009

At some point today, barring technological and editorial hiccups, my end-of-the-year piece should appear on the website of Washington City Paper, including my top-ten list and a few brief thoughts on what e-books might mean for print books. I’ll likely be offline when the article goes live (following City Paper‘s coverage of the gun at the snowball fight should keep you busy in the meantime), but there’s no reason not to offer the list proper now. Update: Here’s the article. So:

1. Zoe Heller, The Believers
2. Ron Currie Jr., Everything Matters!
3. David Suisman, Selling Sounds: The Commercial Revolution in American Music
4. Peter Stephan Jungk, Crossing the Hudson
5. Pervical Everett, I Am Not Sidney Poitier
6. Carol Sklenicka, Raymond Carver: A Writer’s Life
7. Richard Powers, Generosity: An Enhancement
8. Hans Fallada, Every Man Dies Alone
9. Yiyun Li, The Vagrants
10. Ward Just, Exiles in the Garden

All have their flaws (though The Believers has fewer than even most good books), and heaven knows this isn’t an exact science: There are a few books that could easily have made it on the list were I in a different mood while compiling it: Jayne Anne PhillipsLark & Termite, Robert Goolrick‘s A Reliable Wife, Wells Tower‘s Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned, Paul Auster‘s Invisible, and the reissue of Don Carpenter‘s Hard Rain Falling. And as usual, I could offer a much longer list of disappointments and failures, topped off by Pete Dexter‘s Spooner, Victor LaValle‘s Big Machine, and Colum McCann‘s Let the Great World Spin. What I can’t do is pull out some kind of common theme about the year’s best books, as I have in the past. I’m content to admire the books I liked for what they are, and hope that 2010 has better ones.

With that, I’m pretty much wrapped up for 2009. I may step in here once or twice before the new year, but I’m more likely to be on Twitter to the extent I’ll spend much time online at all. In the meantime, here’s hoping you have safe travels and good company in the final days of this year. Talk to you soon.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2009

  1. Among the above mentioned list, Exiles in the Garden and Everything Matters are the two books that have managed to find place in my mini-library…The year 2009 was exciting as a reader for me…I made a record of buying books online from A1books and kept on adding them to my book shelf….Books always leave you with surprises to savor… :)

  2. Thank you for so generously sharing your list of favorites, some of which I have not read but must now include on my “must read” list for the coming year.

  3. Hans Fallada is an incredible, powerhouse writer. I chanced upon The Drinker at a bookstore. That’s an endlessly amusing/exaggerated rollercoaster descent into alcohol addiction. It all starts with a taste of Peach Schnapps!

    I read Every Man Dies Alone as well. Another great book. Although it’s a more important work socially and for historical insight, I still love The Drinker more for it’s hallucinatory romp through alcoholism.

Leave a comment